MADISON, WIS. – The Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association announced the names of the 13 people who will be honored by the organization in 2023 for their contributions to the dairy processing industry.

Considered the WCMA’s highest honor, the Life Member Award will have two recipients, both of whom are Wisconsin master cheesemakers: Kerry Henning, president of Henning's Cheese, and Myron Olson, retired longtime manager at Chalet Cheese.

The Luminary Award, which recognizes leaders in dairy product sales and marketing, also will go to two people: Dennis Kasuboski, retired vice president of industrial sales at Masters Gallery Foods, and Stan Woodworth, general sales manager at Klondike Cheese Company.

An honor that goes to industry leaders who create opportunities for others through everyday business decisions, the Cheese Industry Champion Award has three winners: Bill and Don Mullins, leaders of Mullins Cheese, and Jim Sartori, chair of the board at Sartori Company.

The WCMA Distinguished Service Award, which highlights the value of supplier partners to the cheese manufacturing industry, has two honorees: Debra Cherney, founder and board chair at Cherney Microbiological Services, Ltd., and Bob Fassbender, retired technical director at T.C. Jacoby & Company.

Two retirees who helped blaze trails in dairy operations are set to receive the Vanguard Award: Tom Jenny, a cheesemaker for more than 50 years, and Dan Stearns, known during his years at Agropur for his expertise in aged cheddar.

Given to contributors who are educators or partner with processors on dairy innovation, the Babcock Award goes to: Ed Jesse, an expert in global dairy policy at the University of Wisconsin, and Charles White, retired specialist in sensory evaluation, quality assurance, food safety and specialized training.

Award winners will be recognized during WCMA’s CheeseCon, on April 6, 2023, in Madison, Wis.