ROSEMONT, ILL. – The dairy checkoff announced it awarded academic scholarships to 12 students this year. Each recipient is enrolled in a program that emphasizes dairy and all who received scholarships were deemed to be potential future leaders in the industry.

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB) each year through Dairy Management Inc. awards 11 scholarships worth $2,500, as well as its $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship, designated for one outstanding recipient.

NDB awarded the 2022-23 Loper scholarship to University of Idaho student Kaitlin Mirkin, who double majors in pre-veterinary medicine and dairy science.

The 11 other college students to receive grant money from the dairy checkoff this year were: Anthony Agueda (Modesto Junior College), Chloe Calhoun (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), Miriam Cook (Purdue University), Doreen Dyt (California Polytechnic State University), Eliza Endres (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Dina Graves (Clemson University), Ross Herber (South Dakota State University), Kylie Konyn (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Gracelyn Krahn (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Brielle Prock (Oklahoma State University) and Kendra Waldenberger (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities).

Per DMI, which manages the dairy checkoff, scholarships are awarded based on academic achievement, a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity.