ROSEMONT, ILL. – The dairy checkoff announced the latest round of 12 college students to receive its annual academic scholarships. Per Dairy Management Inc. (DMI), each recipient is enrolled in a program that emphasizes dairy and has been identified as a potential future leader in the industry.

Each year the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB), through DMI, awards $2,500 scholarships to 11 college students, as well as NDB’s $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship to one outstanding recipient.

A dairy science major at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Kylie Konyn collected the 2023-24 Loper scholarship.

Each of the following students obtained a $2,500 scholarship: Tyler Bohnert (University of Wisconsin-Platteville), Chloe Calhoun (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), Grace Clark (Iowa State University), Doreen Dyt (California Polytechnic State University), Hannah Even (Iowa State University), Dina Graves (Clemson University), Katie Hebdon (University of Idaho), Margaret Molitor (South Dakota State University), Irene Nielsen (Iowa State University), Natalie Roe (University of Wisconsin-Madison) and Stephen Zheng (University of Wisconsin-Madison).

Criteria for receiving an NDB scholarship include academic achievement, a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity. Students majoring in journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science, animal science, agriculture education and similar programs are eligible to apply for the scholarship.

DMI, which manages the dairy checkoff, is funded by America’s dairy farmers, as well as dairy importers.