ROSEMONT, ILL. – Dairy Management Inc. (DMI), the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB), and the United Dairy Industry Association (UDIA) elected board officers who will lead national dairy checkoff strategies and programs.

NDB and UDIA co-fund DMI, which manages the checkoff. DMI re-elected Marilyn Hershey as chair. The organization also elected Becky Levzow of Rio, Wis., as vice chair, Skip Hardie of Groton, NY, as secretary, and Orville Miller, of Hutchinson, Kan., as treasurer.

“I’m honored to join my fellow farmers and importers across the country as we work together to advance a successful future for dairy farmers and the dairy community,” said Hershey, a farmer from Cochranville, Pa. “The boards and elected officers represent our partnership as we unite to fund, govern and lead the national dairy checkoff program.”

NDB carries out coordinated promotion and research programs to build demand and expand markets for dairy products. It elected four officers: chair Joanna Shipp, Boones Mill, Va.; vice chair Doug Carroll, Ryan, Iowa; secretary Jim Reid, Grant Township, Mich.; and treasurer Suzanne Vold, Glenwood, Minn.

UDIA, which is comprised of state and regional dairy farmer-funded promotion organizations, is overseen by a board of dairy farmers who are elected by state and regional boards. UDIA elected six officers: chair Neil Hoff, Windthorst, Texas; 1st vice chair Alex Peterson, Trenton, Mo.; 2nd vice chair, American Dairy Association (ADA), Tom Woods (retired), Gage, Okla.; 2nd Vice Chair, National Dairy Council (NDC), Audrey Donahoe, Clayville, NY; secretary Charles Krause, Buffalo, Minn.; and treasurer John Brubaker, Buhl, Idaho.

ADA was founded by farmers and co-ops to promote US dairy. It elected four officers: chair Tom Woods (retired); vice chair Glen Easter, Laurens, SC; secretary Jenni Tilton-Flood, Clinton, Maine; and treasurer Corby Werth, Alpena, Mich.

NDC provides science-based education about the nutrition and health benefits associated with dairy products. It also elected four officers: chair Audrey Donahoe; vice chair Jeff Hardy, Brigham City, Utah; secretary Harold Howrigan, Sheldon, Vt.; and treasurer Michael Ferguson, Senatobia, Miss.