ORLANDO, FLA. – Dairy checkoff leaders from Dairy Management Inc. (DMI), the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB) and the United Dairy Industry Association (UDIA) elected board officers during their Joint Annual Meeting with the National Milk Producers Federation.

DMI announced the results, noting its officers will lead national dairy checkoff strategies and programs to protect and grow sales. DMI manages the national checkoff program and is co-funded by NDB and UDIA.

Marilyn Hershey, a dairy farmer from Cochranville, Pa., was re-elected chair of DMI. Mary Kraft, Fort Morgan, Colo., was elected vice chair; Jim Reid, Jeddo, Mich., was elected secretary; and Becky Nyman, Hilmar, Calif., was elected treasurer.

Said Hershey: “I’m honored to join farmers from across the country as we work together to create a successful future for dairy farmers and the US dairy industry. The board and elected officers represent our partnership to fund, govern and lead the dairy checkoff program.”

NDB, UDIA and the National Dairy Council also elected officers.

Consisting of 37 members, NDB carries out coordinated promotion and research programs to help build demand and expand markets for dairy products.

Elected officers for NBD are:

• Chair – Joanna Shipp, Boones Mill, Va.

• Vice chair – Doug Carroll, Ryan, Iowa

• Secretary – Lolly Lesher, Bernville, Pa.

• Treasurer – Justin Leyendekker, Dinuba, Calif.

A federation of dairy farmer-funded promotion organizations, UDIA is overseen by a board of dairy farmers elected by respective local and regional member organizations.

Elected UDIA officers are:

• Chair – Alex Peterson, Trenton, Mo.

• 1st vice chair – Charles Krause, Buffalo, Minn.

• 2nd vice chair/chair, National Dairy Council – Audrey Donahoe, Clayville, NY

• Secretary – Harold Howrigan, Sheldon, Vt.

• Treasurer – Kris Wardin, St. Johns, Mich.

Elected National Dairy Council officers are:

• Chair – Donahoe

• Vice chair – Arlene Vander Eyk, Pixley, Calif.

• Secretary – Jenni Tilton-Flood, Clinton, Maine

• Treasurer – Mike Ferguson, Senatobia, Miss.