WASHINGTON — The International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) announced Jeremy Travis, vice president of quality and technical services at Hilmar Cheese Company, Inc., as the recipient of the 2022 Food Safety Leadership Award.

Travis picked up the honor on Tuesday, during IDFA’s Dairy Forum, in Palm Desert, Calif. The food safety award, which is now in its sixth year, goes to an individual, group or organization that demonstrates outstanding leadership through enhancing food safety in the dairy products industry.

“This honor represents the partnerships we continue to strengthen across the dairy industry, academia and the regulatory network,” Travis said. “It also reflects progress of our Hilmar Cheese Company food safety, manufacturing and technical teams. Thank you for this recognition that the dairy industry works together to be the leader in food safety.”

John Allan, IDFA vice president of regulatory affairs and international standards, said Travis exemplifies food safety leadership for the Hilmar Cheese Company, as well as the entire industry.

“His respect across the industry is evidenced by the many nominations he received from his peers at different dairy companies,” Allan said. “Given his many years of engagement, commitment and passion in working with others from various companies, through IDFA’s committees, as well as other dairy organizations, IDFA is proud to present this year’s Food Safety Leadership Award to Mr. Travis.”

Hilmar Cheese Company, Inc.’s chief executive officer and president, David Ahlem, said Travis’ passion for continuous improvement enhances product quality and safety.

“He has used his knowledge and expertise to improve food safety for the entire industry,” Ahlem said.

In past years, the IDFA gave the award to the Dairy Farmers of America (2021); Edith Wilkin, staff vice president and fellow, food safety and regulatory compliance, for Leprino Foods (2020); The Ice Cream Club, Inc. (2019); Brian Kraus, director of food safety and regulatory compliance, Wells Enterprises, Inc. (2018); and the Cornell University Dairy Foods Extension team (2017).