ARLINGTON, VA. — With the aim of maintaining continuity during challenging times in the food industry, FMI - The Food Industry Association extended the terms of its board chairman and other officers.

FMI made the decision March 30 at its annual Midwinter Executive Conference in Orlando, Fla.

“I am grateful to our board officers for their generosity with their time and counsel as we continue to navigate this challenging environment in our nation’s history together,” said Leslie Sarasin, FMI’s president and chief executive officer. “I’m emboldened by these leaders and enthusiastic for the opportunity to add new perspectives and expertise as we serve with one powerful voice to elevate the food industry’s stature and relevance.”

In addition to the reappointments, the group also elected new directors and other board members.

The reappointed and new members are:


Officers Extending Their Terms (1-year term)

Chairman, Randy Edeker, Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, Iowa

President and CEO, Leslie Sarasin, FMI, Arlington, Va.

Immediate Past Chairman, Joseph Sheridan, Wakefern Food Corporation, Keasbey, NJ

Vice Chairman, Wholesaler: Brandon Barnholt, KeHE Distributors, Naperville, Ill.

Vice Chairman, Finance: Brian George, Alex Lee, Inc., Hickory, NC

Vice Chairman, Communications: Jerry Golub, Northeast Grocery, Inc., Schenectady, NY

Vice Chairman, Industry Relations: Kevin Holt, Ahold Delhaize USA, Quincy, Mass.

Vice Chairman, Public Affairs: Laura Shapira Karet, Giant Eagle, Inc., Pittsburgh, Pa.

Vice Chairman, Food Safety: Susan Morris, Albertsons Companies, Boise, Idaho

Vice Chairman, Member Services: Michael Needler, Jr., Fresh Encounter, Inc., Findlay, Ohio

Vice Chairman, Product Supplier: Steve Presley, Nestlé USA, Inc., Arlington, Va.

Vice Chairman, Independent Operators: Lauri Youngquist, Knowlan's Super Markets, Inc., St. Paul, Minn.


New Directors (3-year term)

Stuart Aitken, The Kroger Co., Cincinnati, Ohio

John Alston, Brookshire Brothers, Inc., Lufkin, Texas

Robert Baesler, Baesler's Market, Terre Haute, Ind.

Edward Basha III, Bashas’ Inc., Chandler, Ariz.

Leon Bergmann, Save-A-Lot, Ltd., St. Ann, Mo.

Brad Brookshire, Brookshire Grocery Company, Tyler, Texas

Joseph Colalillo, ShopRite of Hunterdon County, Inc., Flemington, NJ

Reynolds Cramer, Fareway Stores, Inc., Boone, Iowa

John Derderian, Allegiance Retail Services, LLC (Foodtown), Iselin, NJ

Rudy Dory, Newport Avenue Market, Bend, Ore.

Ron Edenfield, Wayfield Foods, Inc., Lithia Springs, Ga.

Wesley Eubanks, The Pictsweet Company, Bells, Tenn.

Lou Fisher, Main Street Supermarket Corp., Millville, NJ

Don Fitzgerald, Dom’s Kitchen and Market, Chicago, Ill.

Greg Gregerson, Gregerson's Foods, Inc., Gadsden, Ala.

Thomas Heinen, Heinen's Grocery Stores, Cleveland, Ohio

Chieh Huang, Boxed Wholesale, New York, NY

Anthony Hucker, Southeastern Grocers, Inc., Jacksonville, Fla.

Robert Ingle II, Ingles Markets, Inc., Black Mountain, NC

Darrell Jones, Pattison Food Group, Langley, BC, Canada

Omar Jorge Peña, Compare Foods Supermarkets, Charlotte, NC

Neil Kudrinko, Kudrinko’s Ltd., Westport, ON, Canada

Brandt Louie, Georgia Main Food Group Limited, Richmond, BC, Canada

Tres Lund, Lund Food Holdings, Inc., Edina, Minn.

Rob McDougall, Gelson’s Markets, Encino, Calif.

Hendrik Meijer, Meijer, Inc., Grand Rapids, Mich.

Steve Oakland, TreeHouse Foods, Inc., Oak Brook, Ill.

Richard Riesbeck, Riesbeck Food Markets, Inc., St. Clairsville, Ohio

Todd Schnuck, Schnuck Markets, Inc., St. Louis, Mo.

Jack Shakoor, Jack’s Super Foodtown, Caldwell, NJ

Mark Skogen, Festival Foods, De Pere, Wis.

Michael Sleeper, Imperial Distributors, Inc., Worcester, Mass.

Colleen Wegman, Wegmans Food Markets, Inc., Rochester, NY

Jonathan Weis, Weis Markets, Inc., Sunbury, Pa.

Steven Williams, PepsiCo, Inc., Plano, Texas

Rick Wright, Market of Choice, Inc., Eugene, Ore.


Newest Product Supplier Directors (3-year term)

Twyla Bailey, Mondelēz International, East Hanover, NJ

Oli Morton, Kellogg Company, Battle Creek, Mich.

Susanne Wasson, Corteva Agriscience, Johnston, Iowa


New Chairman’s Appointees (1-year term)

Chris Boever, The Hain Celestial Group Inc., Tampa, Fla.

Tim Figge, Hussmann Corporation, Bridgeton, Mo.

John Ross, IGA, INC., Chicago, Ill.

Randy Skoda, Topco Associates LLC, Elk Grove Village, Ill.