MADISON, WIS. – The Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association (WCMA) elected Emmi Roth president and managing director Tim Omer to serve as the association’s next president.

Omer will officially begin in his new WCMA role on July 1, when he succeeds Steve Bechel of Eau Galle Cheese, who will complete his two-year maximum term.

The WCMA’s next president will work with an executive team comprised of first vice president Doug Wilke (Valley Queen Cheese), second vice president Mike Sipple (Agropur), treasurer Kim Heiman (Nasonville Dairy) and secretary Chris Renard (Renard’s Cheese). All four were selected to continue in their leadership roles when the new fiscal year begins July 1.

Additionally, the WCMA announced the following new additions to its board of directors: Mathew Bartkowiak (Nelson-Jameson), Paul Bauer (Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery), Steve Doyle (Sartori Cheese) and Bob Greco (Cheese Merchants of America). All of them begin their first terms on July 1.

Along with Bechel, Craig Filkouski (Great Lakes Cheese), Mike Neu (Chr. Hansen) and Paul Scharfman (Specialty Cheese Company) also completed their maximum terms on the WCMA board.

Said WCMA executive director John Umhoefer: “It’s a privilege to have the thoughtful guidance and support of these leaders in dairy processing. We’re grateful to those leaving the board this year, and we look forward to bringing the four first-time board members into the association’s leadership body.”  

Members of WCMA include dairy processors, manufacturers, marketers and suppliers throughout the United States.