MCLEAN, VA. – The Food Processing Suppliers Association (FPSA) Dairy Council awarded six scholarships worth $3,500 apiece to students working toward degrees within dairy and food science disciplines.

The 2023 Tom Imbordino Memorial Dairy Science Scholarship recipients are Chloe Calhoun, University of Nebraska - Lincoln; Bhaswati Chowdhury, Virginia Tech; Grace Clark, Iowa State University; Kaitlin Mirkin, Washington State University; Akshit Lnu, South Dakota State University; and Arshdeep Singh, University of Missouri.

“Thanks to the contributions of FPSA member companies at the 2023 FPSA Charity Auction, we were able to increase the number of scholarships from four in 2022 to six this year,” said Martin Lutz, chairman of the FPSA Dairy Council and chief executive officer at ProLeiT Corp. “This was helpful given that the number of excellent submissions nearly doubled over last year’s as students in prominent dairy and food science programs are becoming more aware of the opportunity.”

The scholarship is named for Imbordino, a founding member of the FPSA Dairy Council. David Seckman, president and CEO for FPSA, said the scholarship program’s growth is a tribute to Imbordino, calling him a proponent for young people seeking a career in the dairy industry.

“Tom would be especially proud of this program and the impressive academic talent it has attracted,” Seckman said. “FPSA and its Dairy Council are confident that with such highly qualified applicants as we had this year, this industry is in very good hands.”

The council is governed by an all-volunteer board of directors, and its members take an active role in the review and selection of scholarship winners.